We’re Back, Baby!

13 Jul

Hi there.  Did you miss me?  Sorry I was gone so long but I’ll admit it, I needed that All-Star break as much as the Phillies did.  But now that I’ve cleared my head I’ve got a new and improved attitude heading into the second half of the season.  In fact I even came up with some really good reasons why we should all be excited about the Phillies.  (Notice I didn’t say “the top 10 reasons” because I couldn’t quite come up with that many but what’s the big deal about ten anyway, right?  It’s just a number.)

So get ready to reach for those rally towels because here it comes:

As Many Reasons As I Could Think Of to Watch and Enjoy the Second Half of the Phillies Season

  • The Phillies have always been a second half team.  I know many are saying they will need a ridiculous winning percentage to make the playoffs but I say, just forget about the big picture for now.  Let’s just root for some well-played baseball and let the rest take care of itself.   Like the old cliche goes, just take it one game at a time.
  • Jonathan Papelbon hasn’t given up yet.  Did you see what he said to Carlos Chooch Ruiz after they got the final out in the All Star game?

“Attaway, Chooch! That was some fun stuff, huh? Hey, man, it was a pleasure throwing to you. Let’s get back on track in the second half.”

‘Attaway, Pap!’  If the closer hasn’t “closed it down” yet, why should we?

  • Pitcher Roy Halladay should be back with the Phillies next week.  If anyone can breathe some life back into this left-for-dead team, who better than ‘the Doc‘ himself?
  • Let’s face it, if you like sports, there’s really nothing else to watch anyway.  I mean, I’m all for team USA but how many nights can we watch the American Olympic basketball team crush the competition like last night’s 113-59 win in an Exhibition Game against the Dominican Republic?  Ay dios mio!
  • After all, as my family is always reminding me, it’s just a game.  Maybe with the pressure off and expectations low, the team will remember how to just have fun playing baseball and the fans will remember how to just have fun watching it.
  • Last year there were several teams that made improbable runs to squeak in to the playoffs on the last day of the season  (Does the name the St. Louis Cardinals ring a bell?)  And this year there’s even an additional wild card.
  • I don’t know about you but I still haven’t heard the fat lady sing.
  • And if all else feels, I’ll turn to one of my favorite baseball movie characters, Annie Savoy (played by Susan Sarandon) in Bull Durham.  Help me here, Annie:

“I believe in the Church of Baseball.  I’ve tried all the major religions and most of the minor ones.  It’s a long season and you gotta trust.  I’ve tried ’em all, I really have, and the only church that truly feeds the soul, day in, day out, is the Church of Baseball.”

Hallelujah, sister!

So let’s get out there and root for the Phillies.  Don’t forget, they’ve given us five glorious seasons and win or lose, they are still our team!

So, how did I do?  I told you I had a new and improved attitude.  But the real question is, how will I be tomorrow?

2 Responses to “We’re Back, Baby!”

  1. Ron Cori July 13, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    You can sell sand to Arabs, but Go Phils!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler July 14, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Unfortunately after last night, even I’ll have a hard time finding the positive spin.

Leave a Reply

