Krazy Like A Fox

25 Aug

Of course I’m referring to my new favorite Phillie, Krazy Kyle Kendrick, who notched his third win in a row last night beating the first place Washington Nationals (man, I still can’t believe I’m writing that) 4-2.

But I’m getting a little ahead of myself here.   We were in attendance at last night’s game. It will most likely be our last game at the Bank this season and we couldn’t have asked for a more spectacular night.  As Whitey would have said (and my husband did say):

“It’s a beautiful night for baseball, Harry.”

And it was also a beautiful night for KK (except for one pitch.)  Kyle is now 3-0 with a 0.83 ERA in his last three starts.  That’s only two earned runs in his last 21 2/3 innings.  Those are Hamels, Lee and Halladay numbers.  Heck, those are even better than their numbers this year!

In fact, when Charlie came to the mound to take him out in the seventh, Kendrick got the kind of standing ovation usually reserved for one of his fellow hurlers.  Even though he had just given up a two run homer.  I really wish I could show you a picture of that but my hands were too busy clapping!

And since it was my last trip to the Bank, and Kyle had things under control. I though I’d take a stroll around and show you some of the sights.

Ooooops.  Sorry about this one.  Those Coors Lights go right through me.

Of course you can’t make a trip to the Bank  without a stop  at:  

And it wouldn’t be a Philadelphia ballpark without this familiar landmark.

By the way, I have a tip for you.  If you ever need to remember how much you love baseball, take a child to the game.  We were lucky enough to have our good friend and his daughter with us.  She loved every minute of it!  She looked the part and talked the talk cheering along with every chant.  She understood the game but also knew when it it was time to take a break to sample some of the Bank’s many fine food choices.  I smiled every time I looked at her face and I’m smiling now just thinking about it.

GIRLS BEST PHRIEND in training!

OK, OK, so I have a small bladder.  It runs in the family.

But we really are lucky to have such a beautiful park.

And even when we’re having a tough season like this one, it’s always good to remember:

 Sometimes you need some clouds to have a beautiful sunset.

Have a great week-end everyone!

4 Responses to “Krazy Like A Fox”

  1. Michael Gillen August 25, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Nice, Susan, especially the part about your friend’s daughter!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler August 25, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Hey, thanks! Have a great weekend.

  2. Lea Dickler August 26, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    I am so glad that the last game you went to was a good game.!!!! Hope fully, it won’t be the last good one. Better late than never.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler August 26, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

      You got that right. We’ll take every win we can get!

Leave a Reply

