You Can’t Script This Stuff

1 Sep

I wasn’t sure exactly how to put last night’s game into words.  There were so many moments that seemed to come straight out of a B movie,  the ones where you’re sure it’s all going to end badly but somehow things always seem to work out in the end.  So lacking words of my own, I decided to turn to the movies for guidance.  (Extra credit for anyone who can tell me where these famous movie lines come from.  And Mom, I mean you!)

“I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore!”                                                                                                

That pretty much sums up how I’ve felt through most of this Phillies season.  When I turned off my tv in disgust after yet another crushing loss, I vowed not to spend one more night watching this debacle of a season. (Thanks go out to Hal for that one.)

But…

“Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in.”

Then a game comes along like last night ‘s and I’m back grabbing for the standings and studying tonight’s pitching match-up.  (It’s Cliff Lee vs. Tim Hudson, by the way, at 4:05!)

“Go ahead, make my day.”

Couldn’t you just hear Erik Kratz whispering that in Chipper Jones’ ear last night right before  Jones body-slammed Kratz to the ground in a bone-chilling collision at the plate.  The impact actually came a fraction of a second before John Mayberry’s strong throw reached Kratz’s mitt.  But while I was struggling to remember who was the Phils’ back-up to the back-up catcher, Kratz jumped right back up, showed the ump that he had caught the ball and headed for the dugout.  All in a day’s work for this guy.

And speaking of Erik Kratz:

I’m the king of the world.”

Yes, he is.  After spending more than 10 years in the minors, Kratz is certainly making the most of his opportunity with the Phillies.  In 34 games, he is hitting .290 with 8 home runs and 18 RBIs. Last night’s game-tying ninth inning homer against Braves’ ace closer Craig Kimbrel, came on an 0-2 count.  Kimbrel has struck out 34 of the 39 batters he faced this season when he had them down 0-2.  But not this time.  “King” Kratz is sure making a strong case to be the Phillies back-up catcher next season.

“Run, Forrest!  Run!”

Just replace the name Forrest with Jimmy and you’ll get the idea.  After another incident of non-hustle, manger Charlie Manuel benched his on-again, off- again all-star shortstop Thursday, but after fessing up to Manuel, Jimmy was back in the lineup Friday.  Charlie, however, made his expectations loud and clear:  “I want Jimmy to want to run. I want Jimmy to want to run because you’re supposed to run and you should run.”   Forrest would agree:

“From that day on, if I was going somewhere, I was running!”  

And Jimmy would be wise to follow his example.

“I coulda been a contender”

At the start of this season, the prevailing wisdom was that the Phillies would not only be contenders but they were the favorites to win the NL East and maybe even the World Series. As we all know by now, that is not the way things have turned out.  But, after last night’s dramatic win against the Braves, the Phillies are only 8 games out of the second Wild Card spot.  Hmmm, if they sweep the Braves, they’ll only be 6 games out and if they….

OK, I know I’m getting ahead of myself here but remember a team called the St. Louis Cardinals?  They were 8.5 games out of the wild card at this same time last season.  I’m just saying.  But you don’t have to listen to me.  Let’s give the final word to Momma.

“My momma always said, “Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” 

Right on, Momma.

And the same can be said about this crazy game of baseball.

4 Responses to “You Can’t Script This Stuff”

  1. geetie cohen September 1, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    On your most appropriate movie quotes
    The first one was from
    Network
    Godfather (I don’t know which one)
    Sudden Impact (He’ll never be the same to me)
    Titanic
    Several Forrest Gump’s
    On The Waterfront
    Hope didn’t forget any.
    I thought they’d never sop showing that play at home. It hurt every time.

  2. Lea Dickler September 1, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Sorry, your son’s momma only got 3 right. I flunked!!!

Leave a Reply

