You Can’t Win ‘Em All

14 Sep

I’m finding myself a little burned out this morning with not much new to say as you can probably tell by my cliched and overused headline.  I knew they’d  lose sometime but blowing a four run lead against the last-place Astros leaves me feeling a bit empty this morning.

I could say that I did wonder (BEFORE the game) why Charlie would start rookie Tyler Cloyd, who had struggled his last time out, on short rest in such a big game.

I could say that bringing in Phillipe Aumont for the fifth time in five days in the eighth inning of a one-run game was a questionable move as well.  (He pitched in both games of Sunday’s doubleheader  and then pitched an inning Tuesday and Wednesday.) I’ll admit, that one is hindsight.

Or I could say that it seemed a bit like those Phillies of old who would score a bunch of runs early and then the bats would go silent.  They had their chances but just couldn’t get the big hit when they needed it.

But after an improbable 7-game winning streak featuring great starting pitching, flawless bullpen performances and big hits from almost everyone in the lineup, that just doesn’t seem fair.

So I’ll let manager Charlie Manuel say it for me.

“We had a chance to win the game sitting there in front of us,” Manuel said. “The bottom line is that we didn’t add on runs and we didn’t execute either.”

Yep.  But Charlie, don’t feel so bad.  ‘You can’t win ‘em all.’

♦          ♦          ♦          ♦          ♦

Today’s post is dedicated with love to the memory of Elsie Kuzma.

One Response to “You Can’t Win ‘Em All”

  1. Ron Cori September 14, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    That one hurt. These days, ANY loss is a knife to the heart. Aumont was rag-armed. Papelbon should have pitched to the last batter in the eighth. The ole’ man screwed this one up.

Leave a Reply

