To Blog or Not To Blog

7 Feb

OK, full disclosure.  I’ve been suffering from a bad case of Bloggers Block or Baseball Blahs or whatever you call it when a writer just can’t put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard in my case.

I’m not sure if it’s the long, dark winter or “Chooch’s” suspension or maybe I’ve just said everything I have to say but whatever the reason, I must admit I was seriously considering calling it quits on my Phillies blog, Girls Best Phriend.  (This is the part where you say, “No, No, please say it ain’t so.”)

But recently I’ve been inundated by emails like this one:

Well…one week to Spring Training !!!!  And blog updates.  Im in GBF withdrawal…no posts since October !! 🙂

OK, maybe not inundated but definitely a small avalanche of readers have been asking when the blog was starting up again and where the heck have I been and didn’t I realize that pitchers and catchers report in less than a week?  Tuesday February 12th to be exact.  (Yes, I do realize!)

So I thought long and hard about what to do.  You see I don’t want my blog to turn into one of those box score and stat blogs like all the rest.  That was the whole reason I started writing Girls Best Phriend in the first place.  To try to provide an alternative.   To explore the world of baseball.  To seek out new fans.  To boldly go where no Phillies blog has gone before.  OK, I took that one a little too far.  I told you I’m rusty.

But then I thought about Chase Utley persevering despite his degenerative knee condition.  And the “Doc”  trying to come back strong after last year’s shoulder-injury shortened season.  And I thought, if they can do that, the least I can do is write about it.

So I pledge to get myself back into blogging shape.  I’ll start reading my thesaurus and dust off my Best of Yogi Berra quotes.  I’ll follow Jayson Stark on Twitter and watch Bull Durham, Field of Dreams and of course A League of Their Own.

And if it takes me a couple of weeks to get my groove back I hope you’ll understand.  After all, that’s what Spring Training’s for.

By the way, does anyone know where I can get some deer antler spray?

28 Responses to “To Blog or Not To Blog”

  1. Physics Singer February 7, 2013 at 2:48 am #

    YAY!!! I am so happy that you’re continuing this blog! Whether the Phillies win or lose, it always brings a lift, and often a unique insight. Thank you!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      Thank YOU for those kind words. That’s exactly what I hope to do. I’ll continue to try to live up to them.

  2. Ron Cori February 7, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    Welcome back. Oh, our outfield consists of Moe, Larry and Curly.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      How are you, Ron? Great to have YOU back. Love that outfield line. (I may have to steal it 🙂

  3. qx4mom February 7, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    Yay! Welcome back! You can’t stop! We girls need you!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      Thanks! And I need you so keep reading.

  4. Rodd Bender February 7, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Glad you’re back! Hope springs eternal in Clearwater…

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      Thanks for your support, Rodd! You gotta love that eternal hope.

  5. Shirley February 7, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    Yea, yea,yea!!!! I’m so happy you ain’t quittin’….you’re my baseball lifeline, and I’m really looking forward to your blog again this year!!!!!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      Thanks so much for taking the time to write! Glad you’re with me.

  6. Ray February 7, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Welcome back !!!!!!!!!! If the Phils can take a few months off, so can you !!!! We are all happy that you are back and didnt call it quits (and No..No…No…you cant quit on us, we are as loyal to you as we are to the Phils….what would we do without our blog !!!!)

    Its going to take the players a few weeks to get back into shape, so I think we’ll all understand if you are getting back into blogging shape with them.

    Its good to have you back !!!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

      Good to be back, Ray. And always glad to hear from you! (Hope you don’t mid that I used your email in my post 🙂 Let’s hope the Phillies get into shape way before I do!

      • Ray February 9, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

        Don’t mind at all !!! But you knew that already

  7. Paula Freilich February 7, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    By all means, keep going. How else will I get my Phillies baseball news? Paula

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

      Thanks, Paula! I’ll do my best.

  8. Neil February 7, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    I watch HBO’s Girls and everytime I hear an Oberlin mention, I wonder if SCD is going to kick start GBP.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

      Hey Neil! How are you? I watch girls, too. Gotta support those Obie alums. And thank YOU for supporting GBP. Hope to see you one of these days soon.

  9. Holly February 7, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    She’s baaaaack! I knew you couldn’t stay away.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

      Thanks, Hol! I guess it’s in our blood. Why don’t you and Phil write a guest post (or two) this year!!

  10. geetie cohen February 7, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

    The blog is a must ,
    In SCD we do trust
    Knock off the rust GO

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

      I know I’m back when I get the first haiku of the season! Thanks, Mom.

  11. CForer@eckertseamans.com February 7, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    The real question: how good is the team this year? Can they win 80, 85, 90?

    Charles F. Forer, Esquire Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC Two Liberty Place 50 South 16th Street, 22nd Floor Philadelphia, PA 19102-2519 215/851-8406 (telephone) 215/851-8383 (fax) cforer@eckertseamans.com http://www.eckertseamans.com

    Sent from my BlackBerry®.

    This communication may contain federal tax advice. IRS regulations require us to advise you that any discussion of federal tax issues in this communication was not intended or written to be used and cannot be used to avoid any penalty under federal tax law or to promote, market or recommend any transaction or matter addressed in this e-mail. Only formal, written tax opinions meeting these IRS requirements may be relied upon for the purpose of avoiding tax-related penalties. Please contact one of the firm’s tax partners if you have any questions regarding formal tax advice.

    • Ron Cori February 8, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

      Vegas over/under is 87. I’d go under 😦

      • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

        Come on, Ron! Aren’t we supposed to be positive until the first loss??? (But I’m not putting any money on it 🙂

      • Ron Cori February 9, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

        Unless Howard hits 50, I’m going under. No power, as old as Joan Rivers, and the already alluded to Manny, Moe and Jack outfield.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 9, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

      Glad to hear from you, Chuck! And that IS the real question. Really hard to year to predict with all the question marks. What do you think???

  12. Marlyn February 9, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    You’ll be ready by opening day!

Leave a Reply

