Philadelphia Phillies NOT the Phavorites!

9 Feb

“You LIKE me, You really like me.”

(Younger readers just google Sally Field and you’ll understand.)

A heartfelt thanks for the warm welcome back.  (Warmth greatly needed on this snowy February morning on the East Coast!) This blogger greatly appreciates your support.  I will try to live up to all the kind words.

As I sit looking at the snowy white scene out my window it’s hard to believe that we’ll be seeing red in just a couple of days now.  And let’s hope that’s just the uniform color.  Many of you have already expressed your concerns for this year’s Phillies team.  My favorite was the description of the Phils outfield as “Moe, Larry and Curly”  (Thanks, Ron.)

But is it already time, before a single pitch is thrown, to  ‘throw’ in the towel??

 I think not.

It’s hard to argue with the fact that this may be the hardest Phillies team to get a handle on in years.  Lots of major players returning from injury, an aging lineup, no huge off-season acquisitions.  Wait a minute, isn’t this usually an uplifting blog?

Well, here’s my spin.  After several painful years of being the favorites but never living up to expectations, including a year with a record-breaking number of wins during the regular season only to be followed by elimination in the first round of the playoffs, is this fan sorry that the Phillies will NOT be a favorite again this year?

I think not.

Those of you who have been reading my blog for the last several years know how I feel about being picked to win.  I HATE IT!  Why?  Because if you win, you were expected to and if you lose (which every team but one ultimately does,) you blew it.  Where’s the fun in that?

Look at it this way.  Close your eyes and think back to 2008, that magical World Series year.  You’re smiling right?  Did we have Cliff Lee on the mound?  Or the “Doc?”  Did we have a starting rotation thought to perhaps be the best baseball has ever seen?

I think not.

How about a starting rotation featuring Brett Myers, Joe Blanton, a 45-year-old Jamie Moyer, who in 2008 was the oldest active player in Major League Baseball, and a then-unproven young lefty named Cole Hamels.

And did that 2008 Phillies team, the one that won the World Series, did they have a $50 million closer?

I think not.

They had a bullpen full of unknowns like JC Romero, Scott Eyre and Chad Durbin.  And their closer?  Well he was trying to come back from an injury-filled season not to mention the fact that many had written him off after he gave up a 3 run homer to Albert Pujols in the NLCS.  What was his name again?  Oh yeah,  Brad Lidge.

And what about the outfield?  Let’s see,  it was the oft-maligned Pat Burrell in left, a Rule 5 draft pick from Hawaii, Shane Victorino in center and a platoon in right field of an unknown Jayson Werth and an even lesser-known Geoff Jenkins.

Were they the favorites?

I think not.

OK, I’m not saying that I think this year’s Phillies will win the World Series.  I’m not even saying that they’ll win 80 games or 90.  But am I ready to write the season off before it even starts???

I think not!

Now I’m going to make myself a cup of hot chocolate, sit in front of a warm fire and watch my old dvd of  The Perfect Season.  And I suggest you do the same!

7 Responses to “Philadelphia Phillies NOT the Phavorites!”

  1. Sydney February 9, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Greeting from New Orleans! Hope everyone is fairing well in the storm! Even in the midst of Mardi Gras, I am reading your blog (and that says a lot), so dont stop writing!

    I suggest you watch a copy of the 2008 World Series DVD instead. If you watch closely, you may see the one and only Bubby, as they chat about the rain delay in game 3.

    • girlsbestphriend February 11, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

      Hey there. Always love hearing from my ‘Big Easy’ contingent. Hope Mardi Gras was a blast. I miss those beignets.

  2. Ray February 9, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    Susan,

    We are Philly fans, so we always assume the worst and try…lol..to hope for the best (Flyers, Sixers or Phil’s….). We expect them to win every game every year ( it’s how we are…) I think we will have a good season (we can hope…can’t we??)

    Hopefully, we can get all the separate pieces working as a team again and see where we end up.

    How’s the hot chocolate and the movie ??????

    • girlsbestphriend February 11, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

      Yep! That’s us. And isn’t that what being a fan is all about?

      • Ray February 12, 2013 at 12:31 am #

        It is totally what it’s about !! 🙂

  3. Michael Gillen February 10, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Well, it’s not over ’til it’s over, so, yes, it meeds to be allowed to start, at least, and then we’ll take it a day at a time, with all its totally unexpected, surprising, often unpredictable results. And, yes, that means just about any team could be there, at the end. Great to see you back in action here, Susan! Yes, we like you, amd your good writingmwith its insights and witticisms.

    • girlsbestphriend February 11, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

      Thanks for those kind words. Coming from a fellow blogger, I really appreciate them (and your support.)

Leave a Reply

