I Like That; I Like That a Lot

13 Feb

Pitchers and catchers reported to Spring Training yesterday.  There to greet them were Chase Utley, Jimmy Rollins and Ryan Howard, not due to be in camp until Friday or Saturday.  But there nonetheless.  In fact, 45 of the Phillies 60 man roster are already in camp.

And I like that.  I like that a lot.  

Veteran players in any sport, especially the “stars” are not known for getting to their training camps early.  In fact, many find ways to miss as much of them as possible.  But not this Phillies team.

And I like that.  I like that a lot.

Year after year, they arrive early and work hard.  Jimmy Rollins alongside Freddy GalvisChase next to Ben Revere, Ryan Howard and Darin Ruff.  Veterans greeting rookies and newbies, welcoming them to the team, showing them the Phillies way.

And I like that.  I like that a lot.

Last year at this time, there were no on-the-field sightings of Chase Utley or Ryan HowardUtley in fact, hasn’t played a game in Spring Training for the last two years.  And Howard spent almost all of last season recovering from Achilles surgery.  But this year both are in camp early, participating in informal infield drills.  Happy to be there.  Eager to get started.

And I like that.  I like that a lot.

With all the success many of these players have shared individually and as a team, they are still not finished.  Some, like the Doc and Cliff Lee, have received every individual honor you could name, but are they content to rest on their achievements?  I don’t think so.  They still want to reach the ultimate team goal, a World Series Championship, and they are willing to do whatever it takes to get there.

I like that.  I like that a lot.

Many say the window is closing on this Phillies team.  They are all getting older in a sport that favors the speed and tirelessness that comes with youth.  But that only feeds the drive, the urgency, the desire of this very special group of men.

And I really like that.  I like that a lot. 

6 Responses to “I Like That; I Like That a Lot”

  1. Ray February 13, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    Susan,

    Any time we see extra effort from the players….I like that…I like that alot
    Spring training has begun….I like that…I like that alot
    Your blog is back….I like that…I like that ALOT

  2. Michael Gillen February 13, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    Susan, I like this latest post, I like it a lot! Michael

  3. geetie cohen February 13, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    I like it so much it’s Phillies shirt time at the gym.

    • girlsbestphriend February 18, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

      And FYI, I’m hard at work on my very own Girls Best Phriend T-shirt. I hope to have an announcement very soon!!

Leave a Reply

