Phillies Spring Training: The Clearwater Chronicles

16 Mar

I know it has taken me a long time to get back to our Adventures in Clearwater.  I’ve had a lot of writing to do in my real job lately and I’m just written out so I decided to share the rest of our journey in pictures.

I hope you enjoy the trip.

Immediately upon our arrival it became clear that, “Tito, we’re not in Gladwyne any more.”

phototito

SORRY COULDN’T RESIST

And as you may remember, before we even left the airport we met our first phellow Phillies travelers.

photo

They were off to catch a game in Tampa before heading to the Phillies Clearwater camp and we were off to get our wheels and hit the road.

On the road Phillies style.

ON THE ROAD PHILLIES STYLE

As we headed for our hotel in our flashy red car, we saw ‘signs’  of things to come.

photo-3

Finally we arrived at our hotel.  Not exactly red but a cool pinky color that even I couldn’t miss when I went walking and had to find my way back 🙂

hotel

And once inside it was clear that Phillies Spring Training baseball was the biggest show in town.

shuttle final

But we still had a couple of days before the game so we enjoyed some of that Florida sunshine.  Actually it was a little chilly for those spoiled Floridians but we enjoyed every minute of the sun, sea and sand.

sun on sand cropped

boats

sunset

jansunrise

us better

OK, OK, I know I got a little carried away there but it was my birthday trip so give me a break.

But now it’s time to PLAY BALL!

There’s nothing quite like your first glimpse of the ballpark, Spring Training or not.  The last time I was at Spring Training it was Jack Russell Stadium so our first look at Bright House Field under a bright blue sky with flags flying was quite a sight.

outside of ballpark

bright house field

welcome to spring training

And welcome us they did.

 Now I will admit that I do have a friend or two at the Phillies but who knew what was coming.  We arrived early to see some batting practice. Why else do you go to Spring Training, right? But instead of heading for the stands we got the best seat in the house.  In fact we weren’t sitting at all but standing ON THE FIELD.  And who was our welcoming committee?

ruben

That’s right, the big guy himself, General Manager Ruben Amaro making his way down the row of fans lucky enough to be on the field.  His next stop was our little group.  He put out his hand and said,  Ruben Amaro, nice to meet you.  Thanks for coming down.”  I think he wanted to get Girls Best Phriend’s take on his off-season moves but we had “bigger” fish to fry.

ryan

And I mean big as in “the Big Piece.”  Ryan Howard looked lean and mean.  He bent; he stretched.  What torn Achilles?

ryan bending over

Then, done with his work in the cage he slung his bats on his shoulder and headed off.  But that smile told us all we needed to know.

smilin ryan

Even the men behind the mikes took a break from the booth.  I was thrilled to chat with one of my favorites and when I asked Scott Franzke the secret behind the chemistry he has with color man LA, he animatedly replied, “I’m not really sure and I try not to think about it too much.”  That works for me.

photo-55

But, wait a minute.  Who’s that back there?

chase???

Could it be a rare sighting of the Phils reclusive second baseman?

chase 2

Yes, I think it is.   Chase Utley, you are the man.”

chase cu

And then there was fan favorite Carlos Chooch Ruiz.  He’s playing now but unfortunately he’ll be paying later,

photo-30

And as is the case in every  Spring Training, there are  men sharing a field together who in the end may be fighting for a single roster spot.

mayberry

ruff

And we can’t forget to mention the ballpark food especially this unique item.

brooklyn knish

YOU WANT MUSTARD WITH THAT?

But don’t worry, you can always find the old standards as well.

hot dog

And watching it all was the Skipper himselfCharlie Manuel.

A man with a one year deal.   A  man, fans hope, with a plan to put this team back on top.

charlie

And there was something magical about this day in the sun, a feeling of destiny surrounding this team that some say is running out of time.

 It was a feeling felt by even the youngest among us,

baby

that maybe, just maybe, this year the baseball Gods will be on our side. 

baseball gods

A special thank you to J,  John, Bonnie and Debbie, and you know who you are.

And all my thanks and love to the very special young man behind the camera.

spenc

10 Responses to “Phillies Spring Training: The Clearwater Chronicles”

  1. Elise March 16, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    Great pix, Spencer!

  2. Paula Freilich March 16, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    I loved all the pix. Spencer looks like a movie star!!! Paula

  3. geetie cohen March 16, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Almost like being there. Who took the great picture of Spence? Copy please.

  4. Shirley March 16, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    The pix are great…Spence looks especially great ! Can hardly wait to see them “PLAY BALL” !!!!

  5. Beryl March 16, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    Love it!

    • girlsbestphriend March 17, 2013 at 2:02 am #

      Thanks, Beryl. Great to hear from you. Hope everyone is well. Thanks for reading xo

  6. Michael Gillen March 16, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Well, following this from Down Under right now, Susan!

    • girlsbestphriend March 17, 2013 at 2:03 am #

      Now that’s dedication. Thanks Michael. The wonders of technology. Give Fernie a hug for me.

  7. Frumi Cohen March 18, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    Wow, you guys are VIPs aren’t you? Spencie! GREAT photos. I am ready for my closeup.

Leave a Reply

