Going Once, Going Twice…

7 Apr

OK, I’ll admit it.  I thought the Phillies lost last night.  But it really wasn’t my fault.  Really!

You see I wasn’t home to watch the game.  I was attending a fundraiser. It was an auction with a Philadelphia sports theme.  And it was the kind where you did your bidding with your cell phone but that doesn’t mean that I didn’t sneak in a Phillies score check several times.

In fact, just after the auctioneer had said “going once, going twice, sold” for a week at a vacation home in Colorado, I checked the score and it looked like the Phillies were going once, going twice, going down, losing 3-1 after eight innings.

But that was my last score check of the night because it was time for the evening’s entertainment, comedian Joe Conklin.  Now many of you may know that Joe’s act consists mostly of local sports impressions and at one point he said that the Phillies had lost again so I poured myself another glass of wine (come on, I wasn’t driving!) and tried to enjoy the rest of the evening.  Which I did because Joe Conklin is hysterical!  He does a great Charlie Manuel, a perfect captain obvious, the Sarge and, of course, a spot on Harry the K and you’ve just gotta hear his Allen Iverson.

But I digress.

So I’m still not quite sure what made me check the score one last time before I went to bed.  At first I thought perhaps it was that last glass of wine or maybe my eyes were a little blurry from all those hours spent trying to read about auction items on my tiny cell phone screen.  I mean, what’s wrong with writing your bids down on a piece of paper anyway?  Does everything have to be taken over by technology.  I mean…

But I digress.

So I turned on my DVR (yes, we do tape the Phillies games so I’m not completely anti-tech,) forwarded to the ninth inning and my husband and I sat and watched as the Phillies walked the bases loaded only to have two, count ‘em

Going Once, Going Twice…

two batters strike out.

But all would not be lost on this night as Kevin Frandsen cleared those bases with a pinch hit double.

Scoring once, Scoring twice…  (Ok, you get the idea.)

All in all, it was a great night.

The fundraiser was a hit as happy guests ‘walked off’’ with their items “won.”

The Phillies won with a walk-off’ hit.

And I went off to sleep with a smile on my face courtesy of Joe Conklin and, as the Sarge would say, those Fightin’ Phils.

 Going once, Going twice, zzzzzzzzzz.

6 Responses to “Going Once, Going Twice…”

  1. Hal Rosenbluth April 7, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    How many hits did the Phillies have last night?

    • girlsbestphriend April 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Enough to win! Yes, spoil sport they only had three hits but today in the first they already have 5 so there!

  2. Ron Cori April 7, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    That was fun!

  3. Natalie April 7, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    I am embarrassed to say that in a fit of bleeping rage, I made my family leave after the eighth- my nephew Evan may never forgive me!

    • girlsbestphriend April 7, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

      Hey, Nat, I feel your pain. Been there, done that! He’ll get over it if he wants to go to a game with you again.

Leave a Reply

