Phillies Pretty In Pink

13 May

OK, I’ll admit it.  I was just about ready to give up on this team.  In fact, I even said in the car on our way to a Mother’s Day barbecue at my sister’s, that if we couldn’t hit against a pitcher that the rest of the league has beat up on, then there was no way we could compete and I wasn’t going to live and die with every pitch any more. It was just too painful.

And somehow I was at peace with that decision.  I would still watch every game, of course, but I would no longer look at standings and calculate what it would take for the Phillies to make the play-offs.  I would just watch…for fun!  That way I wouldn’t get so mad every time they made a boneheaded play on the bases and I wouldn’t have to leave the room every time Jeremy Horst or Antonio Bastardo came in from the bullpen.

But just when I had convinced myself that it would be a lot more relaxing watching baseball with this new and improved attitude, this team, perhaps sensing it’s fan base was hanging on by a thread, woke up.  After putting goose eggs on the board for eight innings, trailing 2-0 as they entered the ninth, the Phillies scored two runs in the ninth to tie and two more runs in the tenth to win.

This win secured them a winning road trip, 4-3, which seems nothing short of miraculous, given how poorly they played in several of those games and they return home only 4 games out of first place in a division where no on seems ready to run away with it.

And who got the winning hit?

Mired in an 0-18 slump, with nine of those outs coming on strikeouts, Ryan Howard seemed unlikely to play hero on this Mother’s Day but that he did coming through big-time.  Howard came to the plate in the 10th inning with one out, runners on second and third.  And he did what he hasn’t been able to do for this entire series, drive in runs, two to be exact, with a hard hit single.

Howard humbly attributed his heroics to Mother’s Day, specifically the pink attire he wore for the occasion:

“I just wanted to go out in support for Mother’s Day. I had the pink wristbands, the pink arm sleeves. I wasn’t sure it was going to work, but when I saw the shoes with the two colors in it I said, ‘OK, we’re good.’  It’s all about going out and supporting the cause. It got me a hit today. I might wear them again on Tuesday. You never know.”

And just like that, I was back.

Back supporting my team with all my heart.

Back rooting with every pitch and agonizing over every loss.

Back yelling at my tv at a bad call or a base running blunder.

Back checking the Braves and Nats scores even though it’s only May.

And you know what?  I guess in the end, that’s the way I like it.

Thanks, Ryan.  You keep rockin’ that pink.

4 Responses to “Phillies Pretty In Pink”

  1. CForer@eckertseamans.com May 13, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    Still a lousy team. Still lousy hitters. Still lousy middle inning
    relievers. Long season . . . .

    Charles F. Forer, Esquire
    Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC
    Two Liberty Place
    50 South 16th Street, 22nd Floor
    Philadelphia, PA 19102-2516
    215/851-8406 (telephone)
    215/851-8383 (fax)
    cforer@eckertseamans.com
    http://www.eckertseamans.com

    This communication may contain federal tax advice. IRS regulations require
    us to advise you that any discussion of federal tax issues in this
    communication was not intended or written to be used and cannot be used to
    avoid any penalty under federal tax law or to promote, market or recommend
    any transaction or matter addressed herein. Only formal, written tax
    opinions meeting these IRS requirements may be relied upon for the purpose
    of avoiding tax-related penalties. Please contact one of the firm’s tax
    partners if you have any questions regarding federal tax advice.

    Girls Best
    Phriend
    Charles Forer/PHL/ESCM@ESCM
    cc
    05/13/2013 08:42
    AM Subject
    [New post] Phillies Pretty In Pink

    Please respond to
    “Girls Best
    Phriend”

    girlsbestphriend posted: “OK, I’ll admit it.  I was just about ready to give up on this team.  In fact, I even said
    in the car on our way to a Mother’s Day barbecue at my sister’s, that if we couldn’t hit against a pitcher that the
    rest of the league has beat up on, then there was”

    • girlsbestphriend May 13, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

      Yeah, but it’s OUR lousy team with lousy hitters and lousy middle inning relievers 🙂

  2. Ray May 13, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    Good Morning Susan,

    So, just how many quarters have you had to put in the jar so far, with all of these win a few lose a few games?????

Leave a Reply

