Three Strikes And I’m Out

1 Jun

Yes there have been teachers strikes and transit strikes.

There have even been football and hockey strikes.

There have been hunger strikes and airline strikes.

There was even a Coors Beer Strike in 1977.

But this may be the first ever Bloggers Strike.  I call it:

“The First Ever Bloggers Strike” 

That’s right.  Staring today,  Saturday June 1, 2013, I vow that I will not write another blog post until the Phillies win two games in a row.  I’m sorry Mom (welcome home, by the way!!) but something has to be done.

Now I could have chosen to give up other things, like eating or drinking or text twist.  Are you crazy?  No way I’m giving up text twist.  

It’s just that I’ve run out of things to write that are funny or redemptive or just plain sappy about this team.  I’m even running out of sarcasm.  And forget about trying to find the silver lining.  Let’s face it, I’ve stretched that one as far as it can go.

And lately, I’ve been told that I’m just being mean, warranted of course, but mean is not my best thing.  So I’m going to give everyone a break from my ornery side (especially my husband) and wait and hope that there will be something positive to write about soon.

I know two wins in a row may seem like an impossible dream right now but Cliff Lee pitches tomorrow and when they finish with the Brewers, the Marlins come to town so I’m hopeful that I’ll be tickling this keyboard again before you know it.

I can’t leave, though, without a mention of the one bright spot in all of  this doom and gloom.  Phillies outfielder Domonic Brown has had what my son would call a “sick” month of May.  He blasted two more home runs last night to make him the National League leader with 15.  He finished the month with a .303 average, 12 home runs and 25 RBIs.  He always said “put me out there, give me 400 at-bats and I’ll show you what I can do. “ Many laughed  at the time but Brown’s getting the last laugh now.

So maybe if Halladay and Utley really do come back…

OK, that’s it.  See, it’s not so easy to stop blogging.  Believe me, this will hurt me more than it hurts you.

***By the way, if there were small print I would say that I reserve the right to end my self-imposed strike for extraordinary events that demand my attention, in other words, that I can’t resist to write about.***

So TTFN, enjoy your weekend and don’t forget “that little old ant…”

9 Responses to “Three Strikes And I’m Out”

  1. Ron Cori June 1, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    See You In September…

    • girlsbestphriend June 1, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      Gotta love your confidence, Ron. But it did make me laugh out loud!! Hmmmm, sounds like a song.

  2. Paula June 1, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    So how will I find out anything about baseball? I’ll miss the Haikus and the brilliant remarks. Take a rest. We all need one at some point. Paula

  3. geetie cohen June 1, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    You may say your are a nay sayer and ornery,but even in this strike declaration blog I can see some hope. That ‘lil old ant must be around somewhere !!!

    • girlsbestphriend June 3, 2013 at 11:44 am #

      You can take the girl away from the girl but you can’t take baseball out of the girl.

  4. Fern June 4, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    You are too funny! ok, what’s a text twist?

    • girlsbestphriend June 5, 2013 at 2:58 am #

      Thanks for commenting Fernie. It’s my favorite computer word game! You gotta try it.

  5. Shirley June 7, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    Your strike phinally did it !!!! Phantastic Phillies phought phor phabulous phifth !!!!!

Leave a Reply

