Baseball, Hot Dogs, Apple Pie, and Weddings???

8 Jun

The Phillies lost last night in the bottom of the ninth, but am I upset?

Cliff Lee had a 4-0 lead and couldn’t hold it.  (Remind anyone of a certain play-off game?)  But do I care?

The loss broke the Phils 5-game win streak and the little momentum they seemed to have finally generated, but am I frustrated?

Actually I am none of the above, because today I am going to a wedding.   And I love a wedding.

But this is not just any wedding.

This is a celebration.

A celebration of two people who have had their trials in life, but handled them with grace.

Two people who found each other perhaps when they least expected it.

Two people who deserve all the happiness that they bring to everyone around them.

And that is what we will all be celebrating today.

So I can forgive Jeremy Horst (remind me why he’s on this team again?) for blowing the game in the bottom of the ninth.

And I can forgive Charlie Manuel for leaving Cliff Lee in too long.

And I’m not even irritated that they missed a valuable opportunity to pick up another game on those darned Atlanta Braves.  Sorry, Sue.  (I had to say that.  She’s at the wedding with me.)

Because today I’m going to a wedding.

I’ll end today with a Haiku to my soon-to-be married sister and brother-in-law, especially  appropriate since it was my new brother-in-law who re-introduced me to this beautiful form of Japanese poetry.  (So now you know who to blame.)

 

The wedding’s one day

But there’s no doubt that this team

will go all the way

WE LOVE YOU BOTH.  HIT IT OUT OF THE PARK!

WE LOVE YOU BOTH!  HIT IT OUT OF THE PARK.

6 Responses to “Baseball, Hot Dogs, Apple Pie, and Weddings???”

  1. geetie cohen June 8, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    A lovely tribute to a wonderful couple. Added congratulations and best wishes.

  2. Alan June 8, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Why the apology just to Sue and not me too😃⚾

  3. Shirley June 9, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    Mazel-tov !!!!! I’m with you…..wishing the newly weds years ahead filled with only good stuff !!!!!

  4. Michael Gillen June 9, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Well, what can I say, now that wedding is behind us, and I sit on this porch with the crowd gone? And my new wife gone too, to walk with sister and nieces to town (for ice cream) and the boardwalk. So, now I check email again, and this blog, which touched me, Susan, you know. So, sister, I thank you, and trust on our special day–days–here, which you and new bro-in-law Jan, and Drew and Spencer graced, that we did indeed hit it out of the park. Unlike baseball, however, where one batter would do that at a time, we had one large bat and many, many hands who did that with us. What a time. And…
    Mixed bag it is,
    but at gatherings like this
    life is only sweet.

    • girlsbestphriend June 11, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

      I’m glad you got to read the post. You really are my haiku guru. And it was really a wonderful celebration.

Leave a Reply

