I Got Nothin’

12 Jun

I don’t have any pithy quotes today,

No optimistic “it’s still early” proclamations,

No cleverly written song parodies.

I didn’t even have the energy to dress Tito the wonder-dog in some ridiculous piece of Phillies gear.

(But if anyone from PETA is reading, I can assure you there is no animal cruelty involved.  Just maybe a bit of peanut butter.)

In short–I got nothin’.

And the worst part is, when I fell asleep last night with the score still tied 2-2 between the Phillies and the Minnesota Twins, I actually expected, expected to wake up to another Phillies loss.

Why, you may ask?  If you’re already bummed out enough you may want to stop reading now. Because the answer is simple.

I got nothin but the Phillies have even less.

 Last night was the 23rd time this season this once feared offense has scored two or fewer runs in a game.

Last night was another, in a string of games, where that same offense made an average pitcher  look like Cy Young.

In fact, last night was only the second time in 20 career starts that Minnesota pitcher P.J. Walters pitched into the eighth inning.   He brought a career 5.92 ERA into last night’s game.  (I won’t say I could have hit him, but my brother-in-law Phil could.)

Last night was another game where the Phillies lost to a last place team.

In fact the Phils have lost four in a row now to last place teams, three to the Brewers and now this one to the Twins.

The recent five game win streak which briefly got the Phillies above .500 seems like a distant memory.

They have now dropped to 31-34, back to third place and  eight games behind the division-leading Braves.

The good news?  This post’s over but I did warn you…

I got nothin’.

4 Responses to “I Got Nothin’”

  1. geetie cohen June 12, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    Lackluster losers
    A true fan could really cry
    Good Opens nearby !!

    • girlsbestphriend June 13, 2013 at 12:22 am #

      Wow! That’s a good one, Mom. One of your best I think. xo

  2. Ray June 12, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Susan,

    I think we are left shaking our heads. We have one heck of a Dr. Jekyll – Mr Hyde team this year and you truly never know which one is going to show up on any given night.

    • girlsbestphriend June 13, 2013 at 12:23 am #

      Ain’t that the truth. It’s tough to watch which is the worst part. But always good to hear from you, Ray!

Leave a Reply

