Confessions of a Phillies Fan

15 Jun

Wow!  What a game.  What an amazing comeback.   I just had a feeling the Phillies were going to pull that one out last night.  And after Freddy Galvis hit his second two-run triple and then Charlie sent J-Roll (who was not in the starting line-up due to a sore foot) to the plate to pinch hit I…

OK, OK.  I can’t do this any more.  I just can’t….  Truth be told, I didn’t see any of that.  I didn’t see it because I turned the game off.  There I said it.

When the score was 7-2 I just couldn’t watch another pitch and I turned the game off.   I admit it.

I turned it off.   I’m not proud of it but I can’t lie to you my faithful readers.  I had to get it off my chest.

My only defense is that I was busy preparing for a special event in my household today (more on that later) but that is a weak excuse at best.

But can you blame me?  Has this been the kind of season where the Phillies have often come back from a 7-2 deficit and on the road no less?   I mean, for this Phillies lineup, three runs is a landslide.

And has this been a Phillies team whose strength has been in the bullpen?  Well, has it?

When Kyle Kendrick, who just didn’t have it last night,  had to leave the game in the fifth, let’s face it, the parade of pitchers that followed hardly puts fear in the eyes of the opponent, especially a high-scoring team like the Colorado Rockies.

But somehow, some way, the combination of Jeremy Horst, Michael Stutes, the recently called up Jake Diekman, Justin De Fratus, and Mike Adams (who has even  had his shaky moments lately) managed to hold down the fort until Jonathan Palbon could do his thing in the ninth earning his second save in as many nights making him 13-13 in save opportunities.

The offensive stand-outs were Freddy Galvis with 2, 2-run triples and of course, Jimmy Rollins who came in as a pinch hitter to deliver the game-winner.  But, sadly I didn’t see that.  If it helps any, I did turn the game back on in the eighth but I know that doesn’t forgive my lack of faith earlier.  All I can say is, I’ll try to do better.

The reason I was busy last night is that today is my baby’s 18th birthday.  OK, so he’s not a baby but give me a break; he’s our youngest and today he turns 18.  Now, that’s ironic because he’s the kind of sports fan that never gives up on his team.  Never.  Whether he’s playing himself or rooting along with us, he truly believes until the bitter end.

Hey, if you need any proof, in addition to the Phillies, he’s a diehard 76ers fan and he believed until the day of his surgery, that Andrew Bynum would play for the Sixers.

That’s only one of the many things my amazing son has taught me in his 18 years.  So I promise, in honor of Spencer’s 18th birthday, that I will try to be a better fan, that I will follow his example and believe in my team until the end (or until I just can’t take it anymore.)  Sorry.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, BIG GUY!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, BIG GUY!

6 Responses to “Confessions of a Phillies Fan”

  1. Ron Cori June 15, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    I fell asleep, but I’m pleasantly surprised…

  2. geetie cohen June 15, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

    Your confession made me feel better. I didn’t know until this morning, a pleasant surprise.!

  3. Sue June 15, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    Glad the Phillies can still give you a reason to not give up on them. Mostly though, wishing your son a fantastic 18th birthday!

    • girlsbestphriend June 15, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      Hey, thanks, Sue. I’ll pass it on. So nice getting to see you guys at the wedding. By the way, how are your Braves playing lately?? Just a little friendly rivalry.

  4. Shirley June 15, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

    Happy Birthday Spencer!!!!! I’ll try to learn from Spence to be more believing too….love good surprises like that!!!!!

Leave a Reply

