Bloggers’ Block Cliff Lee Style

17 Jun

I’ve been looking at a blank page for a while now.  i got up, got some coffee, pet the dogs, did some stretches, came back.  Still blank.

It’s not that I’m not trying.  I want to write.  I really do. I want to write for my readers.  That’s why I started this blog in the first place.

Maybe I’m trying too hard, putting too much pressure on myself to write.  Or it could be this hangnail I’ve developed.  I’ve been trying to write through the pain because I don’t want to let my readers down.

Maybe I’ll see a manicurist today to get a second opinion.

But injuries are just an excuse and I’ve never been one to make excuses.  I started this blog to write.  I should be able to write.  That’s my job.

I could’ve picked the Yankees or the Red Sox to blog about but I picked the Phillies because I really thought they had the best players, the best chance of winning, the best chance to keep a blog interesting.  But the past couple years just haven’t gone the way I would have anticipated.

But can I write about this current team, the way it’s made up, the way they’re playing now, you may ask?

I have no choice.  I can’t look at it any other way.  I expect to be able to write no matter what.  That’s why I got into this blogging game.

But will I continue  blogging about the Phillies you try again?

I definitely want to blog.  There’s no doubt about that.  I have to believe that the team will get better and give me more to write about. I don’t know how else to say it besides that.  I want to write.

 But what if it doesn’t turn around?  What of the Phillies don’t get any better?  Can I blog about a team that’s just playing out the string?    (Who are you, anyway, Jim Salisbury?)

I don’t have any control over that. I know that I want to write and that’s all that I can do.  I want to keep writing this blog and I want to write it about the Phillies.  And that’s where my focus is.

I know none of you readers out there feels sorry for me.  I’m going to continue to do what I can to the best of my ability.  All I can do is keep blogging.  That’s really the only thing I can control.

Cliff Lee couldn’t have said it any better.  In fact, he didn’t.

4 Responses to “Bloggers’ Block Cliff Lee Style”

  1. geetie cohen June 17, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    To quote Sheldon from “The Big Bang Theory”.”Sarcasm?bazinga.!”

  2. Shirley June 17, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

    Hang in there Susie….keep on blogging!!!!!!

  3. Physics Singer June 17, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    I’m hoping that line about none of us feeling sorry for you was sarcastic, as geetie cohen implies. I think you know that we all appreciate how challenging it is to do what you do!!

    p.s. I still think you should go on strike ’till they win two in a row!

    • girlsbestphriend June 17, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

      Actually I was trying to lambast the Cliff Lee interview the other day about wanting to win but not until the end saying “with the Phillies.” Not very well I guess. If you have a chance to check out the interview it might make more sense. But I do appreciate the support!

      And the strike may be imminent.

Leave a Reply

