Am I Crazy???

23 Jun

Usually I don’t write on Sundays.  I mean even a blogger needs a day off to get her laundry done.  But yesterday’s game has me feeling downright schizophrenic and I just had to talk (write) it out so just picture me on the couch and you with your pad and pen, looking at me sympathetically, and let the therapy session begin.

“OK, yes, I know they won the game and one of the oldest expressions in baseball is “a win is a win is a win.”

BUT

That was the ugliest win I have ever seen and believe me, I’ve seen my share of  unattractive victories.

Ryan Howard looked like…well the old Ryan Howard.  He had two home runs and four RBI’s to help power the Phillies to a 7-1 lead. 

BUT

Jonathan Papelbon and the rest of the Phillies bullpen could not get nine outs before surrendering six runs as the Mets tied the game in the top of the ninth.

For Howard it was his first multi-homer game since Aug. 30, 2011.  After having just 10 RBI’s in May, Howard has now driven in 15 runs and is batting .358 in the month of June . 

BUT

June has not been as kind to the Phils’ $50 million dollar closer.  After giving up two runs to the Mets in yesterday’s ninth inning,  Papelbon has now blown three saves in his last four chances after being perfect in his first 13 save opportunities. 

This looked like the kind of loss that could spell doom for this tough to watch 2013 Phillies team.

BUT

Phillies utility infielder Kevin Frandsen, who has just 12 total career homers,  “saved” this one for Papelbon and the Phillies with his pinch hit home run leading off the bottom of the ninth giving them an improbable 8-7 victory.

With the Brewers handing the Braves their third straight loss the Phillies are still hanging around, 6.5 games behind the Division leaders.

BUT

Given their many weaknesses from sloppy defense, evidenced again yesterday in the ninth inning, an inconsistent offense and an unreliable bullpen it’s hard to see  this team as a serious contender

So doctor, I mean reader, I hope you can see my problem.

After every  horrible loss I declare that I’m finished with this crazy baseball team, that I’m just not going to let them get to me any more.

BUT

Then along comes a Kevin Frandsen walk-off and I’m right back in the fold.

If Albert Einstein is right and, “The definition of insanity is to continue to do the same thing over and over again and expect a different result,” then we’re all insane.

BUT

Who am I to argue with the big man, himself, George Herman (the Babe) Ruth, Jr.?

“It’s hard to beat a person who never gives up.”

 OK, thanks for listening.  Gotta go do that laundry, now.

5 Responses to “Am I Crazy???”

  1. Ron Cori June 23, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    I don’t know whether to party like it’s 1980 or jump off a bridge today.

  2. George June 23, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    Like going to the dentist: It feels great once the drilling is done.

    • girlsbestphriend June 24, 2013 at 10:51 am #

      I don’t know. There is no pain med strong enough for this season!

  3. Displaced Phan June 25, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    I just SMPhHed and laughed for about 5 minutes after Frandsen hit that home run. I wasn’t even really that happy about it. This season is weird. I’m frightened.

Leave a Reply

