Phillies Win!

3 Jul

Normally a Phillies regular season victory would NOT be cause for a headline.  Especially a headline with an exclamation point.  But these days, every win is headline worthy.

Especially a win that broke the Pirates 9 game win streak,

A win where Ryan Howard broke an 0-22 slump with a single and an RBI,

A win against the team with the best record in baseball,

A win in PNC Park in Pittsburgh, a ballpark that has not been kind to the Phillies since it opened in 2001,  (Last night’s win brings the Phils record there to 15-24.)

A win that gave pitcher Jonathan Pettibone his first victory since May 14th,

A win where manager Charlie Manuel paraded six pitchers in from the bullpen to get 10 outs, concluding with Jonathan Papelbon who got his 16th save of the season.

 It wasn’t pretty but it was a win.  And these days, we’ll take a win no matter what it looks like.

But it will take a lot more wins to put the Phillies back in this race,

A lot more wins to make GM Ruben Amaro a buyer and not a seller come the trade deadline,

A lot more wins for this fan base to get re-energized, (though caps off to the thousands of loud and enthusiastic Phillies fans  who made the trip to PNC park.)

So for now, my advice to Phillies fans (and mostly to myself) is to follow the oldest cliché in the book.

To just take it one day at a time and rediscover our joy in the game of baseball, this soundtrack to our summers,

To enjoy the sights and sounds of America’s national pastime,

To thrill at the crack of the bat, the smack of the glove, the silences as well as the action,

To remember, that after all, baseball is a game to be enjoyed not endured.

As legendary pitcher Bob Feller reminds us:

Every day is a new opportunity.  You can build on yesterday’s success or put its failures behind and start over again.  That’s the way life is, with a new game every day, and that’s the way baseball is.

I don’t know about you but I pledge to try to do that.

To put yesterday’s losses behind me and look forward to the next game, instead of the next day off,

To control my temper if things don’t go my team’s way,

Not to turn the channel in dismay when the bullpen loads the bases with nobody out.

Well, I’m not sure I can promise that last one.

But I will do my best to spend the rest of this season enjoying the game I love and I invite you to join me.

Any takers?

 

One Response to “Phillies Win!”

  1. geetoe cohen July 3, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    I’m in, probably with some reservations, No I”M IN !!!!

Leave a Reply

