I Couldn’t Have Said it Better Myself

28 Jul

To quote one of my wonderful readers:

 “No words today.”

Thanks, Ginny.  That’s exactly how I feel so today I’ll let you, my readers, speak for me.

What’s to say

They have lost their way

I think the bottom is where they will stay

Well said my dear Aunt Gerri

This team’s going down in a hurry!

This next one comes from George, a great friend of ours who always lends his unique perspective.  And it was after a Phillies win!

“Like going to the dentist: It feels great once the drilling is done.”

And this comment about the up and down nature of this Phillies season, comes from Ron, a loyal reader whose comments are often better than the game.

“I don’t know whether to party like it’s 1980 or jump off a bridge today.”

Stay away from open windows, Ron!  I need you.

I also want to share Ron’s little poem right before the All-Star game

Cliff and Brown
Go to All Star Town
While the Phils swoon
Continues past June
Time to back up the truck
What the …. Hell?

And when it comes to whether the Phillies should buy or sell,  Ron is as schizophrenic as GM Ruben Amaro.

We’re gonna make it rain up in this bitch!!” -Ruben on Friday night

“Everything must go!! Our prices are insane!!” -Ruben today

Thanks, Ron, for making me laugh through this dismal season.

And of course there’s my Mom, who never met a game that didn’t need a haiku!

Tough to watch for sure

Have the Phils shut the door or

Should we hope for more

Thanks, Mom, you always know the score.

But sometimes it doesn’t take a lot of words to put this season in perspective.  Just ask my wonderful brother-in-law, Michael.  And this comment came all the way from Santa Fe.  He says simply.

 “ouch”

Couldn’t have said it better myself!

Thanks for all the comments.  Please keep them coming.  It’s the only thing getting me through this painful season.  (That and Breyer’s coffee ice cream!)

4 Responses to “I Couldn’t Have Said it Better Myself”

  1. Ron Cori July 28, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    Thanks for the quotes! Glad we can laugh a bit through the misery. Phils are off Monday. Bekins truck arrives at CBP at 8am.

  2. Natalie Bennett July 28, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    Great post. My son Lucas, Phillies’ superfan, is at overnight camp. He asked us to stop sending scores and stories about the team — said he can’t take the heartbreak. He’s 11.

    • girlsbestphriend July 30, 2013 at 12:35 am #

      I don’t blame him. But tell him when I was his age the team was really bad but they did get better. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

