Phillies Cause Blogger Strike

29 Jul

OK, OK, I give.  After numerous requests from readers, and with the Phillies riding an eight-game losing streak, I have decided that the only course of action left for this blogger is to stop blogging, at least temporarily.

I  call it Strike 2.

After the Phillies just completed one of the worst road trips (1-8) in franchise history culminating in a humiliating 12-4 loss Sunday to the Detroit Tigers, I have exhausted all of thesaurus.com’s listings for “dismal.”

I’m afraid it’s time for Strike 2.

After a nightmarish sixth inning where the Phillies gave up eight unearned runs, three walks (two with the bases loaded), three errors and one grand slam, even the normally positive Jimmy Rollins couldn’t spin this one:

“If there’s a bottom, this has to be it,” Rollins said. “I can’t imagine things getting worse than they have this past week, culminating the way they did today.” 

Note to Jimmy:  You should never say things can’t get worse.

We all know what comes after Strike 2.

Man, I hope J-Roll’s right but if he’s not, at least I won’t have to write about it because I refuse to write another blog post until the Phillies win a game.  (Last time I said two games if you remember but I’m afraid if I wait for that, I might never write again.)

So I call this Strike 2.

 Note to Phillies:  Please don’t make me go any further than that!

3 Responses to “Phillies Cause Blogger Strike”

  1. George July 29, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    There is nothing a couple vodkas can’t take care of — at least when I was dating this held true. But I hear ya on this one!

  2. Hal Rosenbluth July 29, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    There’s nothing left to say except ……………..

Leave a Reply

