What I Learned on My Summer Vacation

11 Aug

I’m back.  After spending five restful days in the mountains with my family, I’ve returned to civilization.  And I mean restful because while the other members of my party were hiking or kayaking or swimming, I was doing…well, not much.  You see, right before our long-planned trip, I had some ill-timed knee surgery, which put me, you might say, on the DL.

I did not do any climbing or riding or jogging, so what did I do you may ask?  I stared at the beautiful scenery from my favorite perch in the Lake Lounge, knee raised on a pillow, my constant companion, the ice pack by my side (or on my knee) and I took advantage of the opportunity to do a lot of thinking.

And what did I think about, you now inquire?  Well as much as I tried to think about something really important like world peace or finding an end to hunger, my thoughts had a mind of their own and that mind kept wandering back to our sad little baseball team.

And I had an epiphany of sorts.

It wasn’t about what Ruben Amaro should do during the off-season, who he should trade or who he should keep.

It wasn’t about whether Charlie Manuel would be back next year.

And it wasn’t even about whether Roy Halladay and Ryan Howard would completely recover from their injuries.

In fact, it really wasn’t just about the Phillies at all.

Rather, as I sat anxiously trying to imagine what I could possibly write about  in my blog when I returned, I realized that during this long season of Phillies losses, I had lost something, too.

I had lost my joy in a sport and a team I once loved.

Now you may think I’m getting a little overly dramatic.  Perhaps you think that I was a little light-headed from the high altitude and the mountain air.

But seriously, the entire time I was gone I barely checked on the Phillies scores and this from a person who usually goes to the bathroom every half hour as an excuse to check my mlb phone ap.  Well, that and I do have a very small bladder.

I realized that instead of looking forward to game time like I used to, I was dreading it, even trying to find reasons that I would not be able to watch or listen.  And I was definitely anxious about what I would write to you, my faithful readers, on my return.

You see, there was no joy in Mudvi…I mean Mohonk.

I had lost the ability to enjoy and even just root for my team.

And I knew that if I had lost that, I had also lost an important part of who I am.

And at that moment, i lifted my cocktail high in the air (you see, I did get some exercise) and vowed on my ice pack that I would find a way to get the joy back.

To Be Continued…

12 Responses to “What I Learned on My Summer Vacation”

  1. Elise August 11, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    Welcome home, SCD!! Can’t wait to see you!

  2. Paul Shannon | Real Arts Media August 12, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    Susan,

    You probably figured out how to get your joy back, but in case not, I can only offer you this:

    http://www.allmovie.com/movie/ken-burns-baseball-inning-7-the-capital-of-baseball-v225051

    Works every time for me.

    Paul Shannon ____________________

    p: 215. 413. 8128 c: 267. 496. 6153 pshannon@realartsmedia.com http://www.realartsmedia.com YouTube channel

  3. Lisa August 12, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    Wishing you a speedy recovery, knee too!

    • girlsbestphriend August 12, 2013 at 11:10 am #

      Thanks, Lisa. I’m moving along on both fronts. Hope to see you soon.

  4. George August 12, 2013 at 5:31 am #

    Congratulations on leaving that bad place. There can be joy in the journey, like the ride home from the dentist.

  5. Neil August 12, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Susan:

    What keeps you returning to your favorite movie? You love the characters, the director excites you, and the writing picks you up and takes you on an unforgettable journey. Following baseball, game after game, can be the same, but the players have to be compelling, the manger has to creative, and the season has to provide heart-stopping, even heartbreaking, drama. No sure those elements are part of the baseball season in Philadelphia this year.

    • girlsbestphriend August 15, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

      Right you are which is why we, as fans, have to work harder to find that joy, right?? Always love your comments!

  6. renee rosenbluth August 14, 2013 at 2:11 am #

    Susan,

    I hope you find your joy. How is your knee?

    R.

Leave a Reply

