Philadelphia Phillies: Say What?

21 Aug

So much for Ryne Sandberg’s modest two-game win streak.  Enough said.

Today we’re going to play a little game called “Who Said That?”  I’ll give you some quotes and you try to guess who said them?

Sounds like fun, right?  No googling!!

1.  “He’s my guy and it hit me hard.  It was a very difficult day for me.  Charlie is a father figure to me.  I respect and cherish everything he has done for me.”

2.  “I probably was a little overzealous in throwing out that balk.”

3.  “You hear his country accent and you think he’s a little bit slow but he’s sharp as a tack.  I guess I’ll have a fishing buddy now down in Florida.”

4.  “I achieved a couple of firsts today personally.” 

 5.  “The fans have been great.  It’s obvious they’re extremely passionate about the [team.]  That’s evident no matter where you go. But we haven’t played a game yet either, so that could change.”

6.  “I definitely didn’t come here for this. I would like to stay here. But if I’m going to have to put up with this year after year, then no, I don’t want to be here. Why would you? Why would anybody?”

7.  “I think if Charlie could adopt Chase Utley I think he probably would. He loves him that much… Chase was the model of who Charlie really wanted everybody to play like. Plays hard, plays the right way, keeps his mouth shut.”

 8.  “I’m not playing for money at this point.  I’m fortunate to have played a long time. If I have a situation where I can win, I might be paying them to play.”

 9.   “All Charlie did was come to the park every day with an attitude to win. We didn’t uphold our end of the bargain… He’s someone I’ll always have in my cellphone. 

10.  “I loved putting that uniform on. I would have wore it over here today if I could.” 

And just because I can, I’ll leave you with a couple of my favorite Charlie quotes from over the years.

“I think we’re out on a limb right now, hanging over a cliff, and we’re trying to find a way to get back.”

” Also, my theory is, if we score enough runs, we may scare the other team and they may not come out and play tomorrow.”

“Yeah, I’m flustrated.  Of course, I’m flustrated.”

“I’ve got two rules.  Be on time and hustle.  Once they buy into it and accept things, that’s when you can be more relaxed.”

” They’ve got all winter to rest.”

“I want them to be who they are… They pay their money to get into the game, why shouldn’t they demand us to play right.  There’s nothing wrong with that.”

“We stayed in there right to the end.  We had a lot of fun, we had a lot of fight, and we had a lot of exciting moments.”

Oh, yeah, you’re wondering where the answers are?  Come on, I need something to write about tomorrow. 🙂

One Response to “Philadelphia Phillies: Say What?”

  1. geetie cohen August 21, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    Are there prizes?

Leave a Reply

