“Who Said That?” I’ll Tell You Who!

22 Aug

Yes, the Phillies had a walk-off win yesterday beating the Rockies 4-3 on a Michael Young single in the bottom of the ninth, driving in Carlos Ruiz who had a out-out double. It gave the Phillies their third victory in four games, two of them walk-offs.  This comes after a 4-21 stretch that ended with manager Charlie Manuel losing his job Friday.

But enough about the Phillies.  I know you’ve all just been waiting in suspense for the answers to yesterday’s “Who Said That?” quiz.

And just in case there were a couple of you who didn’t happen to read yesterday’s post (and you know who your are!) I have kindly included the questions along with the answers.

  1. He’s my guy and it hit me hard.  It was a very difficult day for me.  Charlie is a father figure to me.  I respect and cherish everything he has done for me.”

Yes, this one is from perhaps Charlie Manuel’s biggest fan and supporter, Jim Thome.  The close relationship between the two men is legendary and began when Thome was just a 20-year old in Triple-A.  Thome has always attributed much of his success to Charlie and will alway consider him his greatest mentor and friend.2

2.  “I probably was a little overzealous in throwing out that balk.”

This one comes from home plate umpire Jim Joyce who called a controversial balk on Phillies pitcher Jake Deekman in the eighth inning of Monday’s 5-4 win against the Rockies Joyce actually later admitted that he “implemented the balk [rule]wrong.” An umpire admitting he was wrong?  Now that is quote worthy!

3.  “You hear his country accent and you think he’s a little bit slow but he’s sharp as a tack.  I guess I’ll have a fishing buddy now down in Florida.”

You may have guessed this one.  Jimmy Rollins said this about his former manager, now friend Charlie Manuel.  Although Manuel was known to be hard on Jimmy at times, making him an example when he broke some of Charlie’s basic team rules, the two men were often seen together in the dugout laughing and talking baseball.  Now those will be some great fish tales.

4. “I achieved a couple of firsts today personally.” 

Phillies new manager Ryne Sandberg on getting his first win as a major league manager and his first runs (The Phillies were shut out in his first two games as skipper.)

5.  ”The fans have been great.  It’s obvious they’re extremely passionate about the [team.]  That’s evident no matter where you go. But we haven’t played a game yet either, so that could change.”

OK, I cheated a little with this one.  It was from first year Eagles coach Chip Kelly on how the Philly fans have treated him so far.  He’s right about one thing, though…his team hasn’t played a game yet!

6.  “I definitely didn’t come here for this. I would like to stay here. But if I’m going to have to put up with this year after year, then no, I don’t want to be here. Why would you? Why would anybody?”

Who else but Phillies often outspoken closer Jonathan Papelbon.  But enjoy his wacky quotes while you can.  He may be blowing saves and making headlines somewhere else next year.

7.  ”I think if Charlie could adopt Chase Utley I think he probably would. He loves him that much… Chase was the model of who Charlie really wanted everybody to play like. Plays hard, plays the right way, keeps his mouth shut.”

This one surprised me.  It’s from none other than Jayson “take the money and run” Werth.  It sounds like Jayson may be the one with the man crush.

8.  “I’m not playing for money at this point.  I’m fortunate to have played a long time. If I have a situation where I can win, I might be paying them to play.”

Said by none other than two-time Cy Young winner Roy Halladay after pitching in a rehab start, his first action since May 5th.  In the last year of his contract, it certainly doesn’t seem like money will be a problem if the Phillies want him back.  But about that fast ball…

9.   “All Charlie did was come to the park every day with an attitude to win. We didn’t uphold our end of the bargain… He’s someone I’ll always have in my cellphone. “

Chase “You are the Man” Utley had this to say about his manager of nine years.  I hope he has an unlimited minutes plan.  So maybe that’s why Charlie wanted to adopt him.

10.  “I loved putting that uniform on. I would have wore it over here today if I could.” 

We end appropriately with this comment from Charlie Manuel at his farewell news conference at Citizens Bank Park.  No one loved talking and being around baseball more than Charlie.  And though he will turn 70 in January he hopes to be wearing a uniform again soon.

We hope you will, too, Charlie.

Well, how did you do?  Any perfect scores???

2 Responses to ““Who Said That?” I’ll Tell You Who!”

  1. George August 22, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    Re: #2, he was also the ump that stole a perfect game from Galarragra with a blown call. Having him blow a call for you is an honor.

    • girlsbestphriend August 23, 2013 at 11:58 pm #

      As my favorite sports talk host Mike Missinelli would say, that’s good Jim Joyce kowledge by you, George.

Leave a Reply

