The Phils and the Falls

26 Aug

All the recent Phillies drama and stress

was taking it’s toll on me; I was a mess.

And to make matters worse,I was keeping a log

So I could  bum you out, too, in my blog.

This could not end well; of that I was sure,

First Charlie was a goner; I couldn’t take much more.

charlie-manuel-cbp-e1376690476473

So we packed up the car and followed our map

to a land where they know nothing of the man we call “Pap”

PAP SAYS IT ALL!

To a place with no dugouts, no bats and no balls,

To the town of Dingmans Ferry, land of waterfalls.

2waterfalls photo

We knew we had found the perfect get-away

when we got our first glimpse of our woodsy chalet.

chaletAdobePhotoshopExpress_2013_08_25_20:35:22

It was secluded and quiet, a deck with a view

Now this was a place to relax and renew.

viewAdobePhotoshopExpress_2013_08_25_22:06:09

We could sit at our pond in an old-fashioned Adirondack

pondphoto

chairfall

And just meditate…What?  The Phils had two walk-offs back-to-back??

I know, I know I’m here to unwind

Maybe the beauty of nature will settle my mind.

pretty pondphoto

Our hikes were inspiring in this beautiful place,

No way!  Another walk-off win on a walk by Chase?

Three walk-off’s in a row.  This could be history.

How can there be no Sportsnet in this damn rustic teepee?

Uh-oh.  I’m in trouble; I’m losing it again.

But I have one more way to try to get back my zen. 

If this sight doesn’t do it, than nothing will.

Check out the awesome beauty of the Falls at Raymondskill.

fallsphoto

skinny fallsAdobePhotoshopExpress_2013_08_25_20:31:27

We hiked and we marveled at every new sight

The beauty, the sounds, it was magic all right.

tree trunksAdobePhotoshopExpress_2013_08_25_21:23:11

The entire day was truly surreal

And I thought to myself, now this is the real deal.

pretty!AdobePhotoshopExpress_2013_08_25_21:21:33

The only thing missing in this fresh country air,

My son had his heart set on seeing a bear.

bearphoto

And when muscles were tired and so were our feet

We jumped in the hot tub; yes, life is sweet.

hot tubphoto

I never even checked on the Phillies score

OK, maybe once but after that no more.

We finished our night around the fire pit

and we all agreed that our trip had been a “hit.”

firepit AdobePhotoshopExpress_2013_08_25_20:38:05

fire pit photo

When I woke the next morning relaxed and serene,

I didn’t even care the  Phils had lost in eighteen.

So I vowed to myself as we packed up that day

to remember the life lessons learned at our chalet.

And I would have kept that vow but for a quick glance at the clock

clockmAdobePhotoshopExpress_2013_08_25_18:38:07

 “Put the pedal to the metal,” I yelled,  “and we’ll make it home for Doc.”

2 Responses to “The Phils and the Falls”

  1. geetie cohen August 26, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    Here’s to time well spent,
    You seem serene and unbent.
    As photos go yours are a winner,
    And home for Doc and dinner!!

    PERFECT

Leave a Reply

