Phorgiveness

5 Oct

Hi my old blog-reading friends.  Yes, it has been a while since I’ve written but I thought I’d share something pretty powerful that I did yesterday, something that really helped me, something that I hope might be helpful to some of my fellow Phillies fans.

Yesterday was Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement, the holiest day on the Jewish calendar.  It is the day we spend fasting, praying and reflecting over the past year; the day we spend asking for forgiveness for ourselves for things we have done wrong, and here’s the important part; it’s the day that we also grant forgiveness to others who may have wronged us.

I think you see were I’m going here.  Yes, after I got some of my more important Atoning out of the way, I decided it was time to forgive the Phillies for the 2014 season.  Yep, after a season when I didn’t rush to my computer as soon as I woke up to check the score of a West Coast game; a season where I turned off many a game before the final out because I just couldn’t take it; a season where I anticipated the last game much more than I had the first, it was time to forgive and try to forget.

Phillies-stink-cartoon

So here we go:

  • I forgive the Phillies for their 73-89 record and for finishing in last place for the first time sine 2000.
  • I forgive Ryan Howard for his .223 batting average and 190 strikeouts.
  • I forgive them for signing Bobby Abreu in Spring Training (not that I hold a grudge or anything.)
  • I forgive them (though I still don’t understand it) for never really gave Darin Ruf a “fighting'” chance to prove himself.
  • I forgive AJ Burnett and Kyle Kendrick for…..well, being AJ Burnett and Kyle Kendrick.
  • I forgive Ryne Sandberg for not resting Chase Utley enough so that after an All-Star first half of the season, his numbers and contribution to the team plummeted.
  • I forgive (and this is a hard one) Ruben Amaro, Jr. for never shaking this team up even when it was abundantly clear they were out of contention.
  • I forgive Dominic Brown for never putting it all together and will wish him well when he is traded this off-season.  (Did you hear that Ruben???)
  • And yes, I even forgive Jonathon Pabelbon for his, shall we say, controversial, salute to the fans.  After all, it may be his last.

Sadly, I could go on but don’t worry, I won’t.  Because the real point here is, that it is time to forgive.  Yes the Phillies need to clean house.  But only through forgiveness can we, the fans, start with a clean slate.  Only through forgiveness can we begin to remember the sport and the team we used to love.

So, after spending part of my Day of Atonement forgiving the Phillies, I can yet again, say with conviction those words that fans have been saying for time immemorial:

“Wait till next year.”

(And I don’t mean next Yom Kippur.)

12 Responses to “Phorgiveness”

  1. geetie cohen October 5, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    You’ve started the New Year right. One of the things we are told to do is do something nice for someone else without them knowing and you have certainly accomplished that BIG TIME. I’m willing to wait til’ next year. Shanah tovahl

  2. Ron Cori October 5, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    2018 is the new next year.

    • girlsbestphriend October 5, 2014 at 10:58 pm #

      Well said, Ron. Great to hear from you! Hope all is well.

  3. Sue Rothstein October 5, 2014 at 11:35 am #

    It was good to read your blog after so many months. I supposed I should forgive the Braves, too. Let’s see what the new year brings for our baseball teams, but in the meantime, wishing you a year of good health and much joy.

    • girlsbestphriend October 5, 2014 at 10:58 pm #

      Thanks, Sue. Happy and healthy to yours as well. Don’t know if it’s better to be really bad or hang in there till the end. Oh well. xo

  4. Fern Zeigler October 5, 2014 at 12:51 pm #

    You are too much.

  5. Gerri Fash October 5, 2014 at 2:42 pm #

    Clean house they should
    And then maybe
    We will hear
    The ball hit wood
    Xxoo

  6. Ray October 6, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

    Susan,

    Miss, miss, miss the blog!!!! Totally agree with you on everything. We can only wait and see what the new year brings………

    • girlsbestphriend October 7, 2014 at 9:02 pm #

      Hey Ray,
      Good to hear from you! It was nice to hear from some of the old “regulars.” Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

