It Still Is Opening Day

6 Apr

Well, it may not be the most anticipated Opening Day in recent memory.  Ok, so it might even be the least.  But when I woke up this morning and heard the words:  “It’s Opening Day for the Phillies,” I’ll admit it:  

My heart fluttered.  And I had a moment of pure joy in anticipation of the brand new baseball season spreading out before me.

first sound of spring

And then I remembered our starting outfield.  

But I digress.  

 For me, there is still something magical about Opening Day and I hope there always will be.wonderful

So when I reached into my closet this morning, I pulled out the only attire appropriate for today.  

shirt

And I will wear it proudly!  Because, win or lose, after all, they’ll always be “my Phillies.”  

Have a great Opening Day and may this be the year that your team will play on a “Field of Dreams.”

No place like home

This post is lovingly dedicated to the memory of Shirley Resnick, a loyal follower of Girls Best Phriend.   But much more importantly, Shirley was a wonderful woman, a loving mother and grandmother and a devoted friend.  She will be dearly missed. 

14 Responses to “It Still Is Opening Day”

  1. Ray April 6, 2015 at 4:20 pm #

    Its good to see a post !!!! We can always hope.

    • girlsbestphriend April 7, 2015 at 8:21 pm #

      Yes, but not the start we were “hoping” for. But it’s always good to hear from you, my friend. In fact I think I owe you an email as well as well. I’ll get there. Take care!

  2. Ron Cori April 6, 2015 at 5:14 pm #

    Welcome back!

    • girlsbestphriend April 7, 2015 at 8:19 pm #

      Hi Ron,
      I hope all is well in your life and I appreciate your support. Yesterday’s entry was probably just a one-time thing, though. Even before the final score. But you never know, right???

  3. Paula April 6, 2015 at 5:25 pm #

    You know how devoted to baseball I am
    I’m in DC right now but saw your blog. Of course, it brought me to tears.
    Thanks you and love, Paula

    • girlsbestphriend April 7, 2015 at 1:41 am #

      Thanks for your note, Paula. I wrote it for you, my Mom…and Shirley.
      xo

  4. geetie cohen April 6, 2015 at 6:05 pm #

    I also dragged out my Phillies shirt and am wearing it as I type. Your dedication was most meaningful to me, as you can imagine.Thank you.

  5. Gerri Fash April 6, 2015 at 6:22 pm #

    Opening Day
    Hooray
    Dare I say!

    • girlsbestphriend April 7, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

      Well, I guess you dare not, huh? Oh well. Great to hear from you, though!!!

  6. Walter Smith April 6, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

    YAY!! How wonderful it was to see you back again! Go Phils!

    • girlsbestphriend April 7, 2015 at 8:17 pm #

      Thanks for the support though it’s probably just a one-time thing. But I guess you never know!

  7. Mitch April 7, 2015 at 6:16 am #

    Well that was one Phillies Opening Day not worth remembering and not just the embarrasing 8-0 (5) home runs LOSS and also includes your boy Jimmie with the decisive home run blow to help win the LA Dodgers game and if that wasn’t enough throw in Kyle Kendrick with a great pitching outing 7+ innings.

    • girlsbestphriend April 7, 2015 at 8:16 pm #

      Man, I hear you. So much for pre-season optimism. Ah well. I have to admit, I’m happy for Jimmy, though!

Leave a Reply

